Year 6 2021 - 2022

Mr Kingsley

Year 6 – Mersey Vale Primary School

Welcome to our Year Six Class at Mersey Vale!

Year 6 is an exciting time at Mersey Vale! As you begin your final year at primary school, we will share our journey with regular updates through our Class Story on Class Dojo, so please make sure you are connected.

Please read this letter Y6 Meet The Teacher Letter 2020-2021 for more information about the school day and our classroom routines.

We hope you find the information on this page useful, but if you have any unanswered questions, please contact a member of the Year 6 team via Class Dojo, or through the school office.

Kind regards,

The Year 6 Team

Who’s Who?

In Year 6 you will be taught by Mr. Kingsley, with daily support from Mrs Lynch and Ms Mayall

The Curriculum

At Mersey Vale, we are proud to follow a curriculum personalised to our learners. Throughout the year we have many exciting opportunities to enrich our learning with theme weeks and educational visits. All children in Y6 receive additional one-to-one support from the class teacher to consolidate their learning and help children catch-up with any missed learning during 2020 - 2021 due to Covid-19.

For further information about our curriculum this year, please click on this link:

Year 6 Curriculum Map 2020-2021

 

Homework

Homework includes a variety of online, written and practical activities and is given on a Friday and shared via the Class Story on Dojo. This year, we are encouraging children to use their online portfolios to submit their work. Spellings are given on a Monday for a test on Friday.

How could you support your child at home?

Year 6 Reading and Maths

How to support your child's reading at home

Y6 Maths Curriculum Overview 2020-2021

 

Year 5/6 Words

Common Exception Words for Years 5 and 6

There are lots of key words children need to be able to spell by the end of Year Six in addition to spelling rules and patterns they are learning. Each week children will be set spellings to learn and these will be posted on the Class Dojo page.

 Alongside being able to spell these words, children will be using these within their work to enhance the meaning of their writing.

Useful Links

Childline

Maths Frame- Practise ANYTHING we have learnt about in school on here!

Mathletics

Vocabulary, Conjunctions, Openers and Punctuation

 

Home Learning During Closure April - July 2020

Helpful hints for home learning

Y6 Home Learning Weekly Grid Monday 27th April – Friday 1st May

Y6 Home Learning Weekly Grid Monday 4th May – Friday 8th May

Y6 Home Learning Weekly Grid Monday 11th May – Friday 15th May

Y6 Home Learning Weekly Grid Monday 18th May – Friday 22nd May

Y6 Home Learning Weekly Grid Monday 8th June – Friday 12th June

Y6 Home Learning Weekly Grid Monday 15th June – Friday 19th June

Y6 Home Learning Weekly Grid Monday 22nd June – Friday 26th June

Y6 Home Learning Weekly Grid Monday 29th June – Friday 3rd July

Y6 Home Learning Weekly Grid Monday 6th July – Friday 10th July

Y6 Home Learning Weekly Grid Monday 13th July – Friday 17th July

Y6 Home Learning Weekly Grid Monday 20th July – Friday 24th July

Files to Download

Year 6: News items

There are no News items to display

Year 6: Display work items

There are no Display work items to display

Year 6: Events items

There are no Events items to display

Student Login

STAFF LOGIN
PARENT LOGIN
SCHOOL BLOGS
SCHOOL TOUR